Skip to content

Secrets, please.

March 6, 2011

In my few years of mothering, I have figured out a lot of secrets. It took a kid, but by the time I got to the second one, I had sleep totally mastered. The secrets of making cleaning seem like a game are used here often. Distraction solves most tears on everyone so far. I like to think I know how to move kids over the humps of pacifiers and diapers. But there is one thing I just can’t seem to figure out: keeping my boys’ shirts tucked in.

We only bother with tucking on Sundays. Inevitably, the shirt-tails are out again before we leave the house. I usually don’t bother to address that until we get to Church. Then I tuck 5 or 6 times during Sacrament Meeting and at least one more time right outside the door of Primary and Nursery, respectively. Fortunately, I don’t have to think about the un-tucked shirts until I pick the boys up at the end of Church, but then, there they are: shirt tails mocking me.

It’s terribly embarrassing. I like to think that I am relatively competent, but these shirts outdo me. And they are such a public show of parental failure! Belts, sweaters, vests, smaller pants, longer shirts…I’ve tried them all.

So–what is the secret? How do you keep your boys’ shirts tucked into their pants for more than 10 minutes (and preferably for 3 hours)?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. marta permalink
    March 6, 2011 9:22 pm

    safety pins

  2. Lindsay Sorensen permalink
    March 6, 2011 10:26 pm

    Or what if you tried velcro? Maybe if you sewed velcro onto the shirt tail and into the waistband. Velcro might be easier to deal with in terms of restroom breaks.

  3. Anna permalink
    March 7, 2011 7:03 am

    We don’t. We wear vests or sweaters over the top of dress shirts and keep all the excess button down shirt tucked up under it. The tucking is a losing battle.

  4. amy permalink
    March 7, 2011 7:30 am

    We don’t either. The vest is the best I’ve come up with but his shirt tails usually hang out the bottom.

  5. Jake permalink
    March 7, 2011 11:33 am

    For older kids, sweaters and vests seem to work. For younger kids, three words: Dress shirt onesies.

  6. March 7, 2011 6:16 pm

    First of all, it has never occurred to me to even tuck Adam’s shirt to begin with. Second, share your sleep secrets. Because I, like you, have had three children and don’t have it figured out.

  7. March 8, 2011 9:44 pm

    A dance belt? Ummm, never mind.

  8. March 11, 2011 4:23 pm

    I don’t think I’ve ever noticed if my sons’ shirts stay tucked in or not. Now I’m going to have to start paying attention.

  9. Amy Thomason permalink
    March 11, 2011 6:02 pm

    Apparently Gap sells dress shirts with snaps at the bottom like half of a onesie? Also, I have a friend who cuts off the bottom of an old onesie and sews it to the bottom of a dress shirt, it doesn’t have to look nice because no one sees it. And google “sta-tuct”. Good luck.

  10. March 12, 2011 11:01 pm

    I don’t bother trying. But then again, you know me…

  11. March 15, 2011 9:17 am

    I never even try. It just seems pointless and they’re so cute when they’re little, it hardly matters anyway.

    Now, if they’re 12 and passing the sacrament and they’re STILL untucked, I might start to care. Though at that age, I think I would not try the onesie dress shirt idea. I feel that might open them up to a bit of ridicule.

Leave a Reply

