Skip to content

Wake Me Up

March 2, 2011

I lost the alarm clock in the divorce.

No biggie–an easy replacement, right? Sure. Except I have been searching for a month, and still haven’t found one. Just in case you are good at math, yes, I had an interim alarm clock that looked good but apparently was as crappy as the price-tag had indicated, because it died. So, back to my current search. Here is a list of the features I DON’T need in an alarm clock:

I-pod dock
MP-3 compatible
Projection (seriously, why is this so pervasive?)
Nature sounds
Lights
Vibration
Atomic
Speakers
Ugly
CD player
Temperature
Time zone
Beeping
Talking
Solar
Wi-Fi

This is what I DO need:

RADIO
Clock that can be read even at night
Snooze
Aesthetically palatable

Just TRY to find it. I don’t believe it exists in my price range, if at all. It has been my holy grail quest.

Which means: technology has moved on without me. I am that guy still buying records in the 80’s. Or the grandma who continues to use a dial phone, or heck, one with a cord. Or the last person in the neighborhood driving a horse and buggy. Or the chuckle-head using floppy disks. Or film.

But, whatever.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2011 1:47 am

    I’ve used the same alarm clock since I was 13. I am ridiculously attached to its ugly self. However, it lacks a radio so it would not make your cut list. But Bob’s alarm clock is an RCA and it fits all your specs. This isn’t his exact model (his would be perfect for you, but he might miss it…), but it is close:
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001TNQLT6/ref=pd_lpo_k2_dp_sr_1?pf_rd_p=486539851&pf_rd_s=lpo-top-stripe-1&pf_rd_t=201&pf_rd_i=B0030820UW&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_r=08VQNS6VYBAXCY1X02CS

    • March 3, 2011 7:23 am

      The updated version is the one I lost in the divorce! It is still available at Target, but I am reluctant to get it–just feels like I would be moving back in time.

      • March 12, 2011 10:59 pm

        If it’s perfect, it’s perfect. This post has made me ponder what to do if mine ever dies. I would probably have a genuine funeral for it. 😦

  2. Anne permalink
    March 3, 2011 8:26 am

    Did you look at LL Bean or Brookstone?

  3. March 3, 2011 10:12 am

    OOOOhhhhh–good suggestions. I love the looks of this one at LL Bean
    http://www.llbean.com/llb/shop/67893?from=SR&feat=sr
    but there is no radio! I cannot live without the radio. I’ve been trying to, but can’t break the NPR habit.

    • Anne permalink
      March 3, 2011 11:21 pm

      Don’t you have a radio or CD player already in your room? Unless you feel like you must wake up to NPR, your clock can just be your clock.

  4. March 4, 2011 6:53 pm

    Really? No clock radios out there? That seems odd.

    We still use my husband’s clock radio, which is…I dunno…a billion years old. The radio part doesn’t work anymore, only the beeper–which is fine because the radio wouldn’t wake us up. Especially not the soothing tones of NPR. We need the obnoxious beeping to spur our lazy cans into action.

  5. C Jones permalink
    March 19, 2011 11:33 pm

    http://www.amazon.com/Sangean-RCR-22-Atomic-Clock-Radio/dp/B000QUGKRQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1300591619&sr=8-1

    Automatically sets itself. Nap and sleep timers. One touch dimmable display– so it’s brighter in the daytime and just bright enough to read at night without blinding you. Non-obnoxious alarm. Not ugly.

Leave a Reply

