Skip to content

Peace to the Corps: Happy 50th Anniversary

March 1, 2011


Hug a returned volunteer today.

Top 10 Reactions When People Find Out I was a Peace Corps Volunteer:
10. Is that why you have a funny name?
9. Was that instead of a mission?
8. What did you do?
7. Why?
6. Never heard of it.
5. I wanted to do that….
4. Do they pay you?
3. Did you eat bugs?
2. Whoa–was that, like, all National Geographic and stuff?
1. Did you carry a gun?

Really outstanding volunteers are making presentations in classrooms today, volunteering in their communities, or hosting dinner parties to celebrate Peace Corps. I, however, have a job and small children and a messy house. Someday, I hope to be a really outstanding returned volunteer. At your request, I’ll e-mail you my power point presentation that I use in classrooms, try to clean up the library a little, and at least make dinner for my own family, but that is about all I’ve got in me. Sorry. So lame.

Still, Peace Corps was a marvelous experience for me and I will always be grateful to have done it. I have only recently hooked up with my local RPCV community, and they are delightful people, all. Before attending some of those functions, I had not thought of us as a separate kind of people, but Peace Corps Volunteers really are not normal in a mostly good way. We are pretty laid back and service-oriented and adventurous; I like us.

OK, now for my responses to those reactions:
10. Not exactly.
9. No. I served an LDS mission when I was 21 in Japan. There is no proselyting in Peace Corps.
8. I taught English at a school, just like I do here.
7. I thought it would be a good use of my time and professional skills.
6. (Biting my tongue).
5. Why didn’t you? You still can–there is no age limit. All you need are useful skills (as determined by host country requests for assistance).
4. Volunteers receive a monthly stipend to cover costs and Peace Corps pays for the travel to and from country.
3. Never on purpose.
2. Seriously?
1. No. Peace Corps is not a Peace Keeping force.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Annette permalink
    March 1, 2011 7:44 am

    Happy anniversary, Ly! The woman whose classes I usually talk to about Kenya has been laid off, so now I gotta find a new venue to spread the Peace Corps love.

    • Annette permalink
      March 1, 2011 7:45 am

      Uhm, I don’t know why my avatar is a beet with lips.

      • March 1, 2011 8:29 am

        Would you prefer a beet without lips? Sorry to hear about the lay-off; who is teaching those kids now?

  2. March 1, 2011 11:54 am

    I would love to see your power point presentation, if you were serious about that. That is all fascinating to a home-body like me.

  3. Wende Domm permalink
    March 1, 2011 7:31 pm

    I asked Kurt if he wanted to join the peace corps when the kids are out of the house and we retire. He said that he’d rather go on a shorter mission. Killjoy.

  4. sylvia permalink
    March 3, 2011 9:54 am

    yay pc!

Leave a Reply

