Skip to content

Acceptance

February 28, 2011

I am really not qualified to judge the fashion or the hosting (yawn), but I will feel free to judge the acceptance speeches from the Academy Awards last night. The Melissa Leo speech was fairly mortifying; I am predisposed to route for an underdog, and apparently she had had a rough week, but that speech did nothing to ingratiate her to me. Another lowlight was Christian Bale–if only he didn’t come off like the jerk he is rumored to be, I wouldn’t have to wish he stayed Empire of the Sun size.

Generally speaking, the off-air talent was more tolerable than the stars. Although the speeches may not be stellar and the delivery is somewhat shakey, you at least get a feeling of enthusiasm and gratitude from those folks. I’ll give a tip of the hat to Randy Newman for making me laugh and Aaron Sorkin for vocabulary, although he went way too long (perhaps thinking he would be the only representation from The Social Network, he streamed through all their names).

I can’t quite pick a favorite between the writer of The King’s Speech, David Seidler and the director of the winning short film, Luke Matheny.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. jeannette permalink
    February 28, 2011 12:43 pm

    I loved his “I should’ve gotten a haircut” quip. Overall, I thought it was a major bore. What was up with James Franco? He was off in la-la land the entire time. Hmm…

    • March 1, 2011 10:48 am

      I think that is his schtick. Like, we loved him so much as his Freaks and Geeks (highly recomended, btw) character, he can’t be anything else? I don’t know.

  2. amy permalink
    February 28, 2011 5:07 pm

    I also really enjoyed the speech from Luke Matheny.

  3. joanna permalink
    February 28, 2011 6:07 pm

    Looks like I disconnected my cable a week too early…no Oscars for me. 😦

  4. Amy Thomason permalink
    March 1, 2011 10:37 am

    I totally agree with you. I really wanted Anne Hathaway to do well, but it wasn’t spectacular. As odd as Alec Baldwin is, he’s really good at things like this. And Sandra Bullock was another highlight. Hey, maybe Sandra Bullock and Chuck should have been the hosts. Oh, and I was a bit disappointed with Natalie Portman’s speech. But her husband walking her up the stairs was adorable, and she looked lovely.

    • March 1, 2011 10:44 am

      That’s her “love,” not her husband. I was disappointed with Natalie’s hair.

  5. March 1, 2011 12:37 pm

    Boo on Melissa Leo’s speech. Super cringe-worthy.

    Applause for the “my mom did craft services” guy. Best comment all night, or at least until I fell asleep around 10:30.

    It’s still on the DVR, so I might have to watch Colin Firth’s acceptance speech, just because…you know, I’d get to look at him and listen to his voice and all.

    I’m on twitter now (I know, so weird, I don’t do anything with it) and I “follow” exactly three people, James Franco being one of them. Dude is strange.

Leave a Reply

