Skip to content

Just Trying to Make Your Job a Little More Obsolete

January 12, 2011

Dear Library,

I don’t have many suggestions for how you can better serve me: you do it pretty well. But I have this recurring problem that I think you could solve for me.

The problem is that whenever I am engrossed in my current read, my mind is flooded with titles of books and subjects I really want to read about next. People also seem to make passionate suggestions of truly riveting works only when I have just begun a book that I MUST finish first. I know, that doesn’t really sound like a problem, just wait. As soon as I am free to obtain and read another book, I eagerly rush the library stacks and…can’t think of a thing to read. Often enough, I place a “hold” on a book, hoping it becomes available at precisely the time I need a read. Unfortunately, that only works for books that are not sitting on my library’s’ shelves and even worse, you just doubled the fee at which I can place a hold. Ouch.

Luckily, I come prepared with a solution. Granted, I do not know all the ins and outs of libraries, so I hope those who do will chime in on any holes in my plan. Frankly, though, I have a little swagger about this: I expect you will accept this without complaint. Here is what you need to do: allow me to maintain a Netflix-esque queue (on your woefully inadequate website). Yeah, it might mean I should actually learn to spell that word, but I would do it for this service! To have a list of books I (might) want to read, that I can gaze at in the midst of reading one I don’t really care for would be so great! You wouldn’t believe how much I would enjoy grooming my list, bumping picks up and down, and manipulating my top ten to suit my mood: non-fiction or fantasy, picture books or how-tos, novellas or short story collections, broadening my horizons or comfort-reads–something for my every whim. People could select how many books they’d like at one time and you could automatically “hold” their upcoming books when they return the last batch.

Oh golly, this is such a great idea, your regular shtick is starting to seem so inadequate. Sorry to do that to you.

Love,
Your idea-woman patron.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2011 12:16 am

    Love this idea as well.

  2. joanna permalink
    January 13, 2011 10:32 am

    this could be your million dollar idea.

  3. January 13, 2011 1:00 pm

    Just came over from The Exponent blog. I agre, a netflix type cue for the library would be awesome!

    You have a cute blog and cute kids. I think I know your commentor Ganie from the Midwest Pilgrim’s retreat. And I think we have the same name 🙂 Small world!

  4. January 13, 2011 2:00 pm

    I use my goodreads to-read list this way, but I still have to print it out, bring it to the library with me, and hunt down the books.

    If they had them ready and waiting for me, that would be heaven!

  5. January 13, 2011 3:07 pm

    I’m with Katrina re: GoodReads. It’s the closest thing there is.

  6. January 13, 2011 6:40 pm

    That is a great idea.

  7. January 13, 2011 9:44 pm

    I’d call that goodreads.com. Try it, you’ll like it.

Leave a Reply

