Skip to content

No Sleep till Brooklyn

January 5, 2011

I do this to myself EVERY TIME. When I don’t have to go to school in the morning, a stay up way too late. Night after night, I stay up late. I know it will wreak havoc on my sleep schedule once I am back in business. I know. I tell that to myself as I am noticing that it is much later than I thought it was. I remind myself that I won’t feel good in the morning as I start another show on the DVR or click through to another site or start the next chapter. The idea of my kids getting up at 5:30 am ANYWAY always makes me think I really ought to go upstairs…but not quite yet.

I am not sure what the appeal of the middle of the night is. Surely, there is some draw to “extra time.” And while I am caring for my children, late at night, they don’t actually require any of my attention. It’s kind of like what I imagine a kids-free vacation might feel like. That’s it–I am on vacation. In my living room. Reminding myself how much I will regret it. Charming.

So this week, I am trying to re-adjust. And failing. Witness: it is 10:55, and my official bedtime is 11 and it ain’t gonna happen. Here I am TELLING you I need more sleep, but I’m not actually doing it from my sleep. For shame. So, I resolve: by Monday, I shall be back on my school year sleep schedule. At least until that three-day-weekend.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2011 11:16 pm

    Good Luck

  2. joanna permalink
    January 5, 2011 11:49 pm

    sleep is for wusses! Drink a Coke.

  3. amy permalink
    January 6, 2011 4:40 pm

    I left book club early on Monday so I could get some good rest and then went home and stayed up until 1 a.m. reading a book. Go figure. Should have stayed at book club. Maybe Diet Coke is the answer:)

Leave a Reply

