Skip to content

Bah Humbug

December 17, 2010

My Christmas spirit is gone baby gone. The love is gone. That’s really a shame, given the date. I don’t know what my problem is: maybe that I still have a week of work, maybe because I can’t find Cadbury mini-eggs in dark chocolate (only milk), maybe that next week is chock full of non-Christmassy stuff, maybe that I must must must gut the basement for some necessary unfun and expensive work to be done, maybe because I’m tired of stepping on pieces of Nativity sets. Maybe all of that. And more.

Anywho–my mood was not improved by a trip to Target. Everyone loves Target. I know–we like their inventory and their prices and their popcorn and their clearance and their method cleaning products and they are just a downright ethical corporation. I’m with you. But it was really crowded today (read that in a really whiney inner voice). I realize that my perception is somewhat self-inflicted since I do most (all) of my non-food shopping on-line; I have no tolerance for other shoppers and crowded parking lots. What is up, folks? Why aren’t you at work? Or school? Or home? Don’t you know I need my space? You can shop next week, when I DEFINITELY won’t be at the stores.

But worse: Target. Please explain your double row of checkout counters. It is chaos! Seriously, I have been to lots of stores. I have even frequented stores that don’t have lines, and they are more palatable experiences than your deplorable double row. It is hard to tell who is open. You have to squeeze past another line of customers either on your way to the outermost registers or on your way out after purchasing. You can’t even tell who is waiting in which line! Ack! It bugs me even when the store is deserted and it is just me and the cashier up front, but when it is crowded, it is nuts. Please, just open one row at a time if you don’t have all your registers open, which you rarely do. Target–this is your one flaw, but it’s an awfully annoying one.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 18, 2010 2:40 am

    I have mixed feelings about Christmas. On the one hand, just the thought of it makes me weary. On the other hand, there’s the tune “We Need a Little Christmas,” wherein the sentiment is expressed that Christmas conviviality restores, heals, and edifies one’s spirit: “I’ve grown a little leaner, grown a little colder, grown a little sadder, grown a little older. And I need a little angel sitting on my shoulder, need a little Christmas now.” And there’s something hopeful about that, the idea that there is ultimately some genuine antidote to the grind. Even so, perhaps it’s the feeling that I’ve grown leaner, colder, sadder, and older that makes me weary about Christmas to begin with.

  2. joanna permalink
    December 18, 2010 9:45 am

    sounds like you need a personal Christmas shopper. I am your woman!
    I was at Target last night and I agree.

    • December 18, 2010 12:08 pm

      You are my woman. If only I planned better, I would indeed engage you.

  3. December 18, 2010 9:59 pm

    I think I’m just worn through, but I’ve had a hard time feeling excited about the season. It’s just so exhausting. And it’s been a very, very long week. Hopefully, the presents will magically wrap themselves and my kids will feel like Christmas is really coming. 🙂 Chin up. We’ll survive. I think.

  4. Amy Thomason permalink
    December 19, 2010 6:48 pm

    Amen. I went to Target on Saturday to “make a quick return” and pick something up. The parking lot was fine, sparse even, but inside the store was very busy feeling. And the registers are ridiculous. Don’t you think you would make a great consumer consultant? I do.

    • December 19, 2010 7:11 pm

      Sure–I love jobs that aren’t actually work. Target should totally hire me.

  5. Libby permalink
    December 19, 2010 7:44 pm

    Oh, did I have a Large Negative Experience at Target (in Augusta, Maine….they’re all the same, all over the world, I fear) the other day!! I was in search of a tea pot (Target does not, by the way, stock tea pots, so don’t waste your time looking!) and so was first directed to ” aisle C41″ which was a worthless piece of information since nowhere is it indicated where alphabet sections are located in the first place, and even if I’d found C, C41 seemed hopelessly far away. I eventually was given a general direction with the wave of some cranky employee’s hand, and I set out, eventually finding C41 to discover…..picture frames, as I recall. So, after a few more passes in the general C area, I decided to give up the hunt and leave. I COULDN’T LEAVE. I couldn’t find the exit. I didn’t know which end of the store was front or back, left or right, up or down, and I kept running a circuit which led me past the same familiar displays three times (separated by five minute cardio-vascular workouts), with no sign of an exit. I even asked customers and employees how to get to the exit. They would direct me and I’d follow their directions and never make it to the front of the store. I was about ready to do an Elderly Freak Out. This was so bizarre. Finally I broke free of the closed loop and was never so happy to leave a store. I found the perfect tea pot at TJ Maxx.

  6. December 19, 2010 9:07 pm

    Sounds like a terrible dream! So glad you found a satisfactory teapot, though. TJ Max can be pretty hellish, too.

Leave a Reply

