Skip to content

Hallelujah Mobs

December 3, 2010

I love The Messiah more than the average person. Don’t try to get in a contest with me, because I don’t mean the average person in my world–I am sure you love The Messiah, too. I mean the average person in the world, including people who have no idea what I am talking about. See? Not such a high bar, now. You may well love The Messiah more than the average person, too, but this is about me.

I listen to The Messiah whenever I feel like it during the year, not just at Christmas. Yes, I am the total dork who sings along with the piece blasting in my car. The alto part, of course. I have unsuccessfully sought a local Messiah Sing-along for as long as I have lived here (your one shortcoming, Rochester–fix it!). Singing The Messiah is more fun than listening to it, don’t you think?

But every time I see one of these Hallelujah Chorus flash mobs…



…I wonder:
1–Do the people at the mall/food court/what have you REALLY want to hear this?
2–I can only imagine how frustrating this would be on one of those days where you just ran in to get one thing and are trying to leave, and hear that organ pipe up.
3–Brilliant for merchandisers: not only might it give some patrons the warm fuzzies for you, but it brings a heck of a lot of traffic in with the whole chorus and their fans and family.
4–Not all choruses are created equal.

All right–go about your business now. But if you are part of a Messiah-related flash mob, don’t blame me if I sing along.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Robin permalink
    December 3, 2010 11:05 am

    Emily… I think you should just start your own.. 🙂

  2. trista permalink
    December 3, 2010 12:24 pm

    Canandaigua. This Sunday. There is one. Don’t ask me more about it because I can’t go and I cry every time I think about it.

    • December 3, 2010 12:31 pm

      Of course you can’t go! We will both be at the super important very last ward choir practice. Believe me, I was seriously considering skipping it until I got the pleading e-mail to be there. Just like last year, I am telling myself this year: next year, when we have morning Church, I’ll be able to go. We can carpool.

      Still, it is hard for me to believe that here, among the Hochsteins and Eastmans and RPOs and numerous smashing Church and community choir groups around, that we have to go to Canadaigua for The Messiah.

  3. December 3, 2010 11:00 pm

    Actually, this is President Jensen’s DREAM for the area. You should volunteer to organize it for next year (unless you could pull it off this year.) He would LOVE YOU FOREVER.

    • December 3, 2010 11:37 pm

      If the almighty Campbells can’t do it, I don’t think I can. Just to be clear, which is his dream: a Messiah Sing-along or a flash mob?

  4. Anne permalink
    December 4, 2010 1:00 pm

    Didn’t you see the smiles on the audience members’ faces and the dozens of people filming the proceedings with their cell phones? Who doesn’t enjoy an impromptu Hallelujah chorus? (Except if you are the person that just ran in to the store for one thing.)

    I saw the food court video this week and my first thought was “This is something that would happen in Rochester.” I think this one happened somewhere in Canada. I can’t figure out what the soprano who starts it off is doing with her cell phone. Is she listening to the accompaniment? If not, why doesn’t she hang up for the duration of the song?

    Emily, you just need to pull together a core group of at least 2 people per part and then head out to Eastview Mall and you could easily create your own Hallelujah chorus flash mob. You will get so much publicity that you can shame Eastman in to hosting a sing-along next year.

    The department store one is part of a larger series of events called “Random Acts of Culture.” Great idea.
    http://www.knightarts.org/random-acts-of-culture

    • December 4, 2010 1:43 pm

      Brilliant idea, Anne! What part do you sing? We’ll plan on the 24th! You’re in.

      I heard the soprano is on the phone with her sister–she was so nervous, she had called her sister for support. I don’t know why she didn’t just hang up, or at least hold the phone out so her sister could hear everybody. Maybe her sister is the true soprano?

      • Anne permalink
        December 4, 2010 5:41 pm

        Alto, baby. Count me in!

  5. Eve permalink
    December 4, 2010 7:59 pm

    I can’t imagine this ever happening ANYWHERE but America. I love America.

Trackbacks

  1. Looky Here: Wordpress is Now Composing Posts for Me–2010 in review « The Chronicles of O

Leave a Reply

