Skip to content

Poor Boy

December 1, 2010

Hey Mom….

Yes, Peter?

Can I ask you a question?

Of course! (inwardly: uh oh)

Why does everyone touch my hair?

[scene]

If you don’t know my Peter in real life, I’ll give you a sneak peek:

Any guesses why everyone touches his hair? Yeah, it’s irresistible. Even men touch his hair. People love it. I can’t blame them: I do too.

So the problem is that Peter apparently doesn’t like it. Major bummer, because I am one of those people who touches his hair all the time. I ended up having one of those discussions with my three-year-old boy I imagined having first with my daughter: if anyone touches you in a way that makes you uncomfortable, tell them to stop. He actually had some great ideas for things to say to people to communicate politely that he did not want to have his hair touched or petted or stroked. I was impressed. I have the sinking feeling, though, that he will be using them on me most often.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Brooks permalink
    December 1, 2010 1:09 pm

    Dang. Now I want to touch that kid’s hair!

    I used to have a similar problem when I was young. And had hair. But nowhere near what he has to deal with. Poor boy.

    • December 1, 2010 8:13 pm

      If you ever meet him, I suggest you ask permission first. I am sure your curly blonde hair was equally tantalizing back when you were short enough to have it in easy reach.

  2. Meredith permalink
    December 1, 2010 2:24 pm

    It’s true. Your kids have insanely beautiful hair. I always look at them at church and think they’re in a GAP kids commercial. So cute.

  3. December 1, 2010 2:38 pm

    I’ll have to sit on my hands and remember to give him a little space!

Leave a Reply

