Skip to content

Dead Souls

November 24, 2010

Last week I went on over to my local historical film preservation institute/classic movie/art house cinema (what, you don’t have one of those in your town? bummer) and caught a double feature on Joy Division. The first was an eponymous documentary: very informative and useful to place Joy Division in musical and historical context. The second was a bio-pic of Deborah and Ian Curtis’ relationship called Control. Spoiler alert: they had none. Since Anton Corbijn directed it, the movie was, of course, in black and white and beautiful but the narrative could have used a little tweaking.

• Joy Division has got to be the most ironic band name. Ever.
• Being a rock star is a singularly poor job-choice for an epileptic
• When your bandmate/friend suggests he can hypnotize and regress you to past lives, don’t believe him
• I realize that Joy Division was post-punk, but did they really have to dress so…boring?


(This is their most upbeat song).
• The music must have been too loud if the three non-singers of your band, um, don’t notice that every single stinking one of your songs is about death, dying, funerals, and the like (seriously–those New Order guys said they didn’t notice how dark the lyrics were!)

• I realize the BAFTA beat me to this but whoa, that actor deserves acting awards just for mastering the Ian Curtis dance–it was awesome great to see the original footage in the documentary and then to see them immediately re-created in the movie

• This is not the greatest choice of entertainment if you are already feeling, uh, depressed.

Then, as a pick me up, I went to see this:

I probably wouldn’t dress like this if I were a defendant in court, but, you know, I just don’t kick so much goth darn ass as Lisbeth does.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2010 12:37 am

    Lol that was an interesting post. I’m glad you were able to enjoy your free time. For the first time in my life and definitely as a single mom I went to a movie by myself and it wasn’t nearly as depresing as I thought it would be. That could be because I saw a comedy lol.

    • November 25, 2010 8:43 am

      Seriously? The FIRST time. I admit that I have been seeing movies by myself for a loooong time. Long before I was married. It doesn’t faze me a bit. Now eating out alone…that’s a different story.

  2. jon permalink
    November 25, 2010 1:42 am

    Emily – I don’t think it was the loud music that made it too hard for them to understand the lyrics: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8yH4h1Z6rcs

    Bernard is so drunk the German subtitles are easier to follow than the audio.

    Jo – I have to say that one of the hardest things to get used to for the newly single parent is going out by oneself. I used to feel like such a loser sitting in a restaurant by myself, in the theater by myself, etc. Now I like it. Screw all those insecure people who need the company of friends and family to go out for entertainment! Wait… this is getting me depressed again.

    • November 25, 2010 8:50 am

      Yeah–there could have been contributing factors. I just couldn’t believe it when they said they never realized how dark the lyrics were and how depressed Ian was. I actually started laughing, I was so surprised to hear that. EVEN AFTER HIS FIRST SUICIDE ATTEMPT! They checked him out of a hospital and took him right to another show–they admit now that they were stupid (and very young, of course) not to cancel shows after that.

  3. November 25, 2010 10:48 am

    What a great day!

    • November 25, 2010 8:07 pm

      Even I cannot do three movies in a row, I think. But all this week, sure.

Leave a Reply

