Skip to content

Thoughts from my Morning Commute

November 12, 2010

o Huh, I thought Ariel Sharon was already dead. Wrong again.
o Knock knock jokes are the work of the devil. Sample from Peter:

Knock knock.
Who’s there?
Boo.
Boo who?
Penguins!

Sample from Amos:

Knock knock.
Who’s there?
Penguins.
Penguins who?
(silence/grinning)

o I will never make a 6-figure-salary (BTW–I am guessing the vast majority of those well-paid “school employees” are NOT teachers, but administrators).
o Ugh—raked out the back yard yesterday. Will cut down all trees before next fall.
o The Deficit Reduction Committee proposals are thought-provoking, and it is pretty funny to hear the crickets chirping from the fiscally conservative who can’t quite endorse any of these ideas. (I say: do it; it’s radical, but something needs doing. Do it. Otherwise, you force me to be jealous of the Britons and their government which actually does stuff [that causes civil unrest!].)
o Today would be a good day to be born: cool birthday.
o Can’t bring myself to feel too sorry for those cruise passengers who had to eat (gulp) salad for two days. Get a grip. How is this news?
o When I imagined my children getting comfortable with invented spelling, I imagined sweet love notes and amusing signs on bedroom doors. Instead I got a list of demands:

o What ever happened to PBS only? Clearly, someone has been watching commercials….

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2010 6:26 pm

    Lol well it only gets worse as they get older. jaylene only wants 3 things a hamter, wii, and a new desk. the list gets shorter and more expensive. uggggh i don’t want to get her any of them other than the desk.

  2. Amanda permalink
    November 12, 2010 9:57 pm

    We are raising similar children. Bob and I decided long ago that knock-knock jokes were a cruelty to parents. Robbie does exactly what Amos does except he finally learned the punch line to one. Love Lily’s note. Her list is similar to Ellie’s: Whatever girl thing I saw between Dora episodes. Sigh.

  3. Wende permalink
    November 13, 2010 12:40 pm

    I kind of love the knock knock jokes – my kids tell them all the time. The “Interrupting Cow” one got us through a particularly boring stretch of Ohio last July on the way to Tennessee. Anyway – Connor’s always involve spit so at least you’re not getting hosed by Amos and Peter. At our house this Christmas it’s all about Transformers and Iron Man. They’ve GOT to stop watching You Tube!

  4. November 15, 2010 6:43 pm

    Once I told my kids about the stupid knock-knock joke we used to tell in the first grade: Knock knock. Who’s there? Mickey Mouse. Mickey Mouse who? Mickey Mouse in his underwear! Bwahahahahahaha! Yeah, my kids thought it was the funniest thing ever. Until they made up their own joke: Knock knock. Who’s there? Sock. Sock who? Sock pizza! Bwahahahahaha! Now that’s the funniest thing ever. (Seriously, my 12-year-old still laughs, even though she knows she shouldn’t.)

Leave a Reply

