Skip to content

Guess Who (updated)

October 29, 2010

It was all shaping up to be a good day: Lily’s costume was made/assembled/gathered AND both she and I are happy about it.

Any guesses about what she will be? Here are some of her props:

Need a closer look at those boots?

I don’t want to brag (much), but I made those. Oh sure, we bought them, but I think you will agree that by glittering them, I made them. If you know me, you know that I am the last person you would expect to glitter anything, but I do enjoy making a little girl’s heart go pitter-pat pitter-pat. No, the costume does not call for sparkly boots, exactly, but I think I made the right call.

So, what literary figure accessories like this?

Lindsay was right, sort of. Before there was Lilly’s Big Day, there was

So Lindsay, if you would like a sparkly pair of cowboy boots for Christmas, just say the word.

Oh, and I got so excited telling you about the boots, I totally forgot the conclusion of my post. I had, of course, foreshadowed a hiccup in my introduction. It really was shaping up to be a great day. But then my car and my garage door collided.

Bummer.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Lindsay Sorensen permalink
    October 29, 2010 10:39 am

    Need you even ask? Looks like it’s Lily’s Big Day.

    • Lindsay Sorensen permalink
      October 29, 2010 10:41 am

      You know, with the purple purse.

      • October 29, 2010 1:06 pm

        Right character, wrong book. Her school “encourages” the kids to dress up as characters from books. Which, of course, I think is a fine idea EXCEPT when your kid REALLY wants to be __________ (anything else) and you have to come up with 2 costumes: one for school and one for everything else. Lily will be Lilly for all Halloween festivities this year. I insist.

  2. October 29, 2010 11:03 am

    Fabulous costume! Seriously, you glittered those boots? Impressive.

    • October 29, 2010 1:08 pm

      It was my inaugural effort with Modge Podge. I know, right? They have still let me be Mormon all these years even though I had not previously used Modge Podge!

  3. sylvia permalink
    October 29, 2010 11:18 am

    you’re making a pair for yourself, right?

    • October 29, 2010 1:10 pm

      No. I’ll make some for you, though, if you think Mohammad can handle them.

  4. Amy Thomason permalink
    October 29, 2010 4:24 pm

    Those boots are seriously impressive, Emily. I was going to guess Lilly. But only because Mom let slip she was making a Lily cape.

  5. joanna permalink
    October 29, 2010 8:42 pm

    for the next Super Saturday Enrichment-or what ever they call it now- you need to do a class on how to make these boots. My girls would LOVE them. I love them.

    Your car and your garage door…you may need to post the story on that. Was it you driving or your kids?

    • October 29, 2010 8:52 pm

      Hee hee–I thought you might think that. If I HAD let Peter start the car (as he wanted to), this accident would not have happened because he would have opened the garage door a full two minutes before I actually started driving. As it was, I didn’t open the door until I got in the front seat, and then I immediately started driving–ahhhh! It was all my fault.

      I detest crafting–I will never attend a Super Saturday, trust me. Mix modge podge and glitter, equal parts, and paint on. This is three coats.

  6. Kate permalink
    October 30, 2010 12:17 am

    Did you know that I am over Enrichment and just finished organizing and putting on our Super Saturday Craft Day (got the calling after using Modge Podge for the first time)? Please also know that I would have absolutely have made you come. Fair warning next time you’re contemplating a move to CA.

    • October 30, 2010 12:47 am

      OK, Kate–I would have come for you, but I would have brought my book and read rather than crafted. Hush your mouth about an Enrichment calling! I have been the Enrichment counselor in 5 RS presidencies since my mission, and that is 5 times too many.

  7. October 31, 2010 11:35 am

    Very cool boots! Happy Halloween!

Leave a Reply

