Skip to content

My Name is Emily, and I Endorse this Message

October 27, 2010

Going door-to-door in your neighborhood after dark and begging for candy is, admittedly, already a questionable practice. When it is done by adult-sized people, however, it crosses over into unseemly. I really hate big trick-or-treaters, so I totally understand this town’s desire to prohibit trick-or-treaters older than middle school. I am not sure I would go so far as to legislate it, but I sympathize. Every year big kids (and adults!) come to my door, it turns my stomach and makes me want to refuse them candy. I never have, but I have often wanted to. Being passive-aggressive as I am, I stop answering the door and turn off the porch lights after a few consecutive visits of big people (usually in lame costumes); the little kids come earlier in the evening, anyway. I know! I am a Halloween Grinch! I just feel that if you are old enough to work (even if it is only babysitting or walking a dog), you need to buy your own candy.

Boo.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Sheree Budge permalink
    October 27, 2010 1:02 pm

    I agree whole-heartedly! Last year was the first time I had moms asking for candy. This year, I believe I will prepare a little speech about the traditions of Halloween and refuse to share with the parents.

    Also, I’d like to know what healthier alternatives to candy you offer at your door. Sometimes I give away toys.

    • October 27, 2010 10:13 pm

      What toys do you give away? I think kids would get a kick out of that. The only alternative I have tried is that one year I did gum. Last year someone in my neighborhood had diabetic-friendly treats.

    • Sheree Budge permalink
      October 28, 2010 11:27 am

      eyeball rubber balls, plastic spiders, spider rings and bat rings, halloween gliders, parachuting witches. This way I don’t eat them myself. If there are leftovers, I put them in the stuff for next year. If there is anything sweet in the house, no matter how revolting, eventually I will eat it. I also buy the chocolate we all like, and yes, we all eat it, too.

  2. Amy permalink
    October 27, 2010 1:45 pm

    agreed

  3. Hannah permalink
    October 28, 2010 4:01 pm

    I gave out glow sticks at the trunk or treat last night – they were the biggest hit! Who knew? I have quit welcoming trick or treaters at the house – it got so out of control with teenagers and adults. One year I spent $150 on candy and have never done it since.

    • October 28, 2010 10:31 pm

      Glow sticks are always a hit–I really would have thought these young’uns wouldn’t be that excited about such technology, but…. We used that at a Church dance and the kids went wild.

      $150?!? Well I never….

Leave a Reply

