Skip to content

Monkeying Around

October 11, 2010

Previously, I have admitted to being a lazy mother: specifically, I do not assist my children at playgrounds–they just get to do what they can do by themselves (except swings). So it was very exciting when Peter came and told me he did three rings on the monkey bars!

“Great job!” I said. “Next time we come, I bet you’ll be able to do four.”
“I’m going to do that right now!” and Peter ran off, only to return with a big grin. “I did five!”
“Fantastic!”

Soon, Lily was at it on the monkey bars coming from the opposite direction; she was quite put out that Peter could be out-doing her. I sat on my bench and waved and smiled and encouraged (and watched Amos with my other eye), happy to see the kids pushing themselves and trying to encourage them, while assuring them that they would be even better next time. Peter was getting a little frustrated and joined me on the bench after another fall.

“Why can’t I do it?”
“You’re doing great! Last time we were here, you just hung on one. Today you crossed 6 monkey bars! That’s a big improvement! Next time we come here, you will be a litter bigger and a little stronger and a little more practiced, and you will probably be able to do even more, ” I could tell that I was not convincing him.
“But Mom, how do the monkeys do it? Maybe I need to eat more bananas.”

Oh man, I can totally relate to comparing yourself to others and all the pitfalls that entails, but at least I stuck with my own species! Poor Peter. Such high expectations of himself.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2010 8:35 am

    I love that Peter. He is so funny.

  2. Lindsay permalink
    October 12, 2010 1:22 am

    Seems logical enough to me . . .

  3. Amy Thomason permalink
    October 12, 2010 4:31 pm

    Monkey bars are hard! I can’t make it all the way across myself and it gives you instant blisters.

Leave a Reply

