Skip to content

I’m Always Chasing…

September 25, 2010

When I committed to having a friends party for Lily, I told her to choose a theme we could plan around. After a few stabs at getting me to acquiesce to a character of some sort (Spongebob? No. Hannah Montana? No!–you get the idea), I telepathically influenced her to chose the totally vague theme of rainbows. Hurray! Entirely non-commercial, un-gendered, and flexible.

We painted:

We fulfilled Lily’s life-long dream of having a piniata:

And beating it:

Again and again and again: this piniata just didn’t want to be destroyed.

I admit, I helped it along. It was worth it. Everyone filled their own little gift boxes.

And fill them they did.

Lily then looked over her guests and said: let us eat cake.

You need a closer look, don’t you?

It tasted pretty good, too.

So, all in all, it was a successful party, I think. Here’s hoping that next time is as easy.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. amyg permalink
    September 25, 2010 9:44 pm

    What a cute idea! I always tried to steer my kids clear of the character themed parties as well. That’s how I like to stick it to “the man”.

  2. trista permalink
    September 25, 2010 10:08 pm

    Sadie loved it! She said it was the “best party ever.” That’s high praise coming from a seven-year-old girl who has seen her fair share of parties! So you did something right. And I want that cake recipe!

    • September 26, 2010 10:29 am

      Ha! The “recipe” is a cake mix + food coloring. Lots of food coloring.

      Plus, I am pretty sure a seven-year-olds favorite party is the last one they went to.

  3. September 25, 2010 10:32 pm

    WOW! What a cake. I am impressed. Looks like a fun party. Glad it’s now behind you.

  4. Amy permalink
    September 26, 2010 7:32 am

    I want a party like that. The cake looks so yummy.

  5. joanna permalink
    September 26, 2010 9:46 am

    YUM! Not a good post to look at on a fast Sunday morning.
    glad the party went well.

  6. September 26, 2010 4:25 pm

    sad we missed it. 😦 Had I been in town, we would have been there. Happy Birthday to Lily!

Leave a Reply

