Skip to content

Safari, Folks

September 2, 2010

I took the kids and we headed north to Canada. Our destination: African Lion Safari. I hope that song is now stuck in your head. Having placed a call to U.S. Border Patrol (I don’t trust what I read on the internet), I felt pretty confident that my passport and photocopies of the kids’ birth certificates would suffice. It turns out that Canadian Border Patrol has also become Family Enforcement; I am sure that if I am ever in the position of having my Ex trying to kidnap my kids into another country, I will be grateful that they need a letter from me stating that I am aware of their travel, but when I don’t have a letter from him and he is gone baby gone, well, that is a different story. Luckily, I had a copy of my divorce papers with me, showing that the kids really belong with me. Thank goodness I rarely clean out my car: all in the name of preparation.

So, the safari place was alright. I am NOT a fan of zoos and safari parks are better, but frankly, if you have lived in Africa, you are just not going to be impressed with captive animals again. My kids thoroughly enjoyed the baboon chase that occurred over and around our car, and they’ll point out the paw-prints and skid mark from the baboon who slid down the wind-shield to you until I get around to washing it. We all agreed that we felt sorry for the giraffe who was clearly trying to escape. Amos is convinced that rhinoceroses are actually dinosaurs, and he has a point.

The highlight was the Asian (NOT African) elephants. They swam, danced, and did handstands. While that was all quite entertaining, it was not very natural.

After three visits in the last month to Ikea, my kids have decided they love it, when they don’t hate it, that is. They do love the lunch and the soft serve and the cinnamon rolls and the playroom. They are not very fond of the time Mama spends waffling over purchases. But, since Lily gets a new bedroom out of it, she still thinks Ikea is heaven on earth. Since the load I tied to the roof of my car (and I am SO unprepared for such a task: I was quite certain we would not get home in tact) made it home with us, I’m pretty happy, too. That is, until I am assembling that new bed this weekend. Call me if you love puzzles!

I really thought about hitting the Maid of the Mist, too, but hey, we can’t hit all the Ontario hot spots in one trip.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    September 2, 2010 10:50 pm

    What a great adventure. Can’t wait to see the paw prints and skid marks.

    • September 2, 2010 11:47 pm

      Well, I hope I’ll have a car wash before your next visit, at least.

  2. September 3, 2010 8:14 am

    I love IKEA. My love for them is diminished only by the fact that they haven’t opened a store in upstate NY. Why must I cross a border to shop at IKEA?

    Yay for Lily’s new bedroom! That’s just what every girl wants.

Leave a Reply

