Skip to content

Perfect Summer Day

August 26, 2010

Well, it almost didn’t make it, but here we are 9 days out from school starting and it showed. Of course it ended at about 6:15 when Peter told me he hated me because I was trying to recruit my kids away from the neighbors with the trampoline and back to my family, but it was good while it lasted.

• 65 degrees
• Sunny
• Breezy
• Scoring lollipops at the bank
• Road trip
• Kids who nap on the road
• Surprise trip
• Beach town
Collection of kiddie amusement park rides that are a quarter each
• A roll of quarters to use
• NO LINES
• Very few kids around
• Fielding compliments on my kids all day long
• Explaining to more than one lady in under an hour that my kids actually are my biological children and THEN having to assure both of them that it was a totally non-invasive question and non-private matter
• Being too satisfied with my delighted children spinning round and round to care about the batty ladies trying to figure out how to get kids like mine
• Ice cream cones
• Finding a grassy hill perfect for rolling down
• The Lake Ontario Parkway which, I am pretty sure, was made just for me because whenever I drive on it, I am the only on there

I guess I really can’t blame Peter, either: I’d be happy to join the family that has the trampoline, too.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    August 27, 2010 8:19 am

    That sounds like the perfect day. (well minus the totally invasive ladies).

  2. August 27, 2010 8:41 am

    We made our first pilgrimage to Carousel Park this summer. That place is awesome. I only wish it were closer. But then you might lose the whole “kids who nap on the road” aspect.

  3. joanna permalink
    August 27, 2010 10:22 pm

    Why have I never heard of this place? Where is it?

Trackbacks

  1. Growing Pains « The Chronicles of O

Leave a Reply

