Skip to content

Love This

July 10, 2010

I realize this is a fairly lame blog post, but whatever: you’ve missed me. I just wanted to share that I LOVE this campaign.

If you feel illegal immigrants are taking “our” jobs, you can apply for one of those jobs, and the United Farm Workers will find you one.

As of yesterday, they had 3 applicants.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. amyg permalink
    July 10, 2010 12:50 am

    Three. Awesome.

  2. July 10, 2010 9:28 am

    Any surprise at that number?

  3. July 10, 2010 3:49 pm

    I saw the president of UFW on The Colbert Report the other night and found him quite compelling. I think we have a sort of messed up situation, on many fronts. We (as a society) clearly take advantage of illegal immigrant workers in this country, but at the same time, we need to have rule of law. I think the whole “path to citizenship” idea sounds more reasonable and compassionate (not to mention more feasible) than “send ’em all back.” Still, though, it bugs me that some people come to this country illegally and may get citizenship more quickly than someone who is following the rules and waiting in line.
    Ack. I don’t know. Love your neighbor, I guess, and I’ll just be glad I’m not in any position where I have to figure this mess out.

  4. esodhiambo permalink*
    July 10, 2010 6:20 pm

    I’d be happy with a “path to legalization”–citizenship is a different ballgame. We just need to make it possible for people to come legally–right now, it just isn’t possible for much of our world neighbor population.

Leave a Reply

