Skip to content

The O Repo(rt)

June 22, 2010

A la The Colbert Report, I have my very own Tip of the Hat, Wag of the Finger. Let’s get started.

To Lily for dancing in her first dance recital! She did well and enjoyed herself, what more could we want? She even mustered the courage to do her solo, that she had always been too shy to perform during rehearsal. It was a pleasant surprise.

To the weather. It was hot! So hot at that recital. At least I wasn’t one of the dancers! All I had to do was sit around. And to me for not brining water. Or juice. Or milk. Or Mama’s juice. Or ny other liquid my sons could think of to request. Lesson learned.

To me! For putting my daughter in African Dance (rather than ballet, tap, or modern) because the recital is much more fun to watch. Bad African Dance is still fun to do and watch. Bad ballet, well, not so much. Also, African Dance does NOT require any special equipment, leotards, sequins, or disturbing adultifying of little girls’ hair and make-up. They dance barefoot. It was fantastic.

To minor organizational issues. I really could have streamlined the down time between the drum and dance acts to cut the recital time by one-third. It wouldn’t have mattered if it hadn’t been so hot, but next time: call me.

To me again! For remembering my camera and snapping some adorable pictures of the dancing and some poses afterwards. They were priceless. And I am just saying that because Lily is my daughter, I know they don’t matter to anyone else.

To the loser who smashed my window and stole my GPS navigator and two cameras. You are probably already sorry once you see that all of those items are basic basic outdated models of what they are. Not only are they not worth the eternal blemish on your soul, they were not worth getting caught, or even getting cut from the glass in my window. You now posess, however, a navigation system with the addresses of all the LDS Churches within a 50 mile radius of Rochester, so I hope you use that feature. I am going to suck it up and replace everything, but I am never going to get back the only pictures taken of my daughter at her first dance recital. You stink!

[Sympathy comments accepted]

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2010 10:55 am

    So amazingly lame! (But what a great conversion story that would be, should the thief take advantage of the programmed addresses.)

  2. esodhiambo permalink*
    June 22, 2010 1:07 pm

    I’m hoping for a conversion because then, along with his (I assume) shot at Celestial Glory, he will make restitution as part of the repentance process and pay for the replacements I have to make ($200 so far, and I haven’t even gotten to the expensive stuff).

  3. June 23, 2010 9:14 am

    Very sad ending to a happy day.

  4. Amy Thomason permalink
    June 24, 2010 8:43 am

    Oh, no! Ugh, I’m sorry, Emily. That’s really crummy. Did Mom get any pics?

  5. June 24, 2010 10:58 pm

    that is truely rotten. I kept wondering when I would see a picture of her dancing. So funny until your sad ending. 😦

  6. esodhiambo permalink*
    June 25, 2010 11:49 am

    It WAS a happy day Deborah.

    Amy–no! Mom, of course, doesn’t have a camera anymore. Dad had his camera with him, but didn’t take any pictures because I was.

    Amanda–I am hopeful I might see some yet. The dance director said she would ask around among other participants, unfortunately, dance is on summer break, but…someday.

  7. Sheila permalink
    July 26, 2010 12:26 am

    Oh no, that really does stink! So sorry.

Trackbacks

  1. This is What Happens… « The Chronicles of O

Leave a Reply

