Skip to content

Cutting Edge Technology for the Septuagenarian Set and Me

June 17, 2010

As I have admitted, I have forgone my Early Adapter status. Maybe I’ll pick it up sometime in the future, like when I have paid off my student loans or stopped checking my bank balance before I go to the grocery store to make sure I don’t spend non-existent money, but for now, I hang with the technologically challenged. Although I have actually been given some mp3 players by people who a) pitied me, b) were tired of hearing me complain that I was the only one in my family of origin who had never been given an Apple device (including tag-alongs like in-laws!), and c) received excess FREE mp3 players that were collecting dust on their dressers for a year before my little brother came home from his mission and rejected them because they were too old, I have never actually figured out how to USE them. In fact, When I spring for new music once every three years, I buy it on CD. THAT is how technologically archaic I am. It’s shocking, really.

As I somehow continue to live a relatively normal life in a very 1990s style, I occasionally encounter a snare, not all of which are based on my lack of I-know-how. One obstacle I am soldiering through right now is the fact that everyone I know who is physically capable of reproducing is doing so. Quit it, folks! In addition to making blankets for you guys, I still have to shower and eat and work and stuff. Crocheting is killing me!

[On a side-note, isn’t this the cutest material ever? I think this is my favorite blanket yet. Lucky baby.]

In the midst of great turmoil, however, The Fairport Library has offered me a bright shinning hope. My book club selected a very popular book to discuss in July; while the magical on-hold/inter-library loan system my local libraries engage in is thrilling (seriously, I get such a kick out of it), it is not without it’s limits. I lost faith that it could get me the book in time for me to really read it (I am a slow-poke reader). First, I bought a used copy off of Amazon–this is another miraculous technology–but it hasn’t arrived yet. So when I last looked the book up to monitor my hold, I noticed that an e-book was listed. Since I happened to have to call the Fairport library anyway (curse you, little green cards that fall out of the book and are only found after I have returned the book!) (and your 50 cent fine!), I asked about an e-book, thinking maybe you need an e-reader to download it to, and, of course, I don’t have one. No, they have this book preloaded on a little player–you just stick your own earphones in, push play, and listen.

Folks, I am not an audio-book person, but I decided to give it a try (God Bless Libraries). Miracle of miracles, I have crocheted, laundered, weeded, and dish-washed to the soothing tones of my literary/sociology crush: Malcolm Gladwell. Glory be. I know the rest of you have been doing this for years on your infernal I-devices, but this was a revelation to me. Next time you visit your grandparents, take them to the library and hook them up! If you have any memories of World War II, this gadget is for you. And me.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2010 10:46 am

    I listened to it on cassette tapes in my car. It’s a quick listen.

  2. esodhiambo permalink*
    June 18, 2010 10:52 am

    Cassettes! You’re even more old-school than I am. Music to my ears.

  3. June 18, 2010 12:17 pm

    Actually, I TRIED to download an ebook to my shuffle thinking it would be a great way to spend all my time running and had no luck. So, hey, you are more advanced than myself. I still think it would be great to be able to LISTEN to a book, but I need some sort of class to make it work. good for you. amanda

  4. esodhiambo permalink*
    June 18, 2010 10:13 pm

    Well, audio will never replace reading for me, but I will give it another try. Though probably with books I don’t care very much about (fluff).

Leave a Reply

