Skip to content

Putting the Prince in Principal

June 11, 2010

I have a seven-year-old student who is Chinese, but when he started here at school a year ago, I’m pretty sure he came straight from a video game. Just my feeling.

Anyway, in addition to his sound affects, the kid loves his Silly Bandz. When the principal banned them from the school earlier this week, I made sure to talk to him about it because I figured no one else would (they all seem to think he doesn’t speak English). Today, as soon as I picked him up, he wanted to tell me something very “special.” By which, I think he meant important or secret. OK, maybe he doesn’t know English.

Student: Someone in class, he brought one Silly Band.
Me: Well, even if he did, you shouldn’t. Mrs. R. said we can’t have them at school anymore. They cause problems.
Student: Who Mrs. R.?
Me: Mrs. R. is the principal.
Student: What a principal?
Me: She’s in charge. She’s the boss. She tells us what we can do.
Student: (Nodding to show understanding) She a queen.
Me: Yes, the principal is a queen.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2010 11:18 pm

    Why were Silly Bandz banned? (I’ve been seeing them decorating many adult wrists here in Manhattan. Odd?)

  2. esodhiambo permalink*
    June 11, 2010 11:39 pm

    Just because they are distracting and cause problems when kids trade them, causing hurt feelings, competition, etc, etc.

  3. Erin permalink
    June 14, 2010 4:43 pm

    At the school where my friend teaches, the kids apparently use them as weapons – for example as a slingshot to launch sharp pencils at each other.

  4. esodhiambo permalink*
    June 15, 2010 11:33 am

    Erin–easy to imagine.

  5. Amy Thomason permalink
    June 15, 2010 2:04 pm

    I’m so sick of Silly Bandz. I refuse to buy them, not that my kids have asked, but Luke has a few that friends have given him. I think they are hideous. They are all lumpy when on your wrist. Trends (scoff).

  6. esodhiambo permalink*
    June 15, 2010 3:03 pm

    HA! from the trendiest sister I have!

    There is no difference between these and jelly bracelets of our youth except that these are a little more clever.

Leave a Reply

