Skip to content

Things I had not Planned Today

June 5, 2010

But happened anyway:

o Waking up 5 minutes before we had to leave for dance class
o Finding out that the baby had figured out how to remove his own diaper
o And had had a bowel movement on one of two pieces of carpet in the house
o Having my “older” kids witness this, laugh at this, BUT NOT TELL MAMA
o Discovering that some non-infant (name withheld) walked in the mess and spread it all up and down the stairs on his (whoops) shoes
o Not showering
o Being late to both drop-off and pick-up at dance class (all-time Mama low)
o Skipping lunch
o Rather than figuring out how to remove the substance and smell from the carpet, thinking it would be easier to rip it out
o Ruining my dad’s day by inviting him to help
o Spending 5+ hours yanking, pulling, grunting, sweating, and squeezing
o Supplying my kids with umpteen popsicles to keep them out of the way
o Getting a blister
o Missing Canal Days
o Ordering pizza for dinner
o Relishing the fact that my kids have branched out to eating pizza that had more than cheese on it
o Starving because they decided they really could eat the part of the pizza I specifically ordered for me and ate it all
o Lecturing the kids about being careful on the new hard and slippery stairs that may or may not have some stray staple pieces sticking out of them
o Complying with my children’s request to listen to Classical 91.5 (otherwise known as “Grandma’s music”) as the drift off to la la land
o Not getting a chance to read my over-due and un-renewable library book
o Blogging this when I could be sleeping.

p.s. Next time you are stapling down carpet directly into beautiful hardwood floors, use fewer staples than are in your fun staple gun. The carpet stays in place with about half as many. Thanks.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2010 11:39 am

    Sounds like super fun!

  2. June 6, 2010 9:48 pm

    I bet the stairs look nice, though.

  3. June 6, 2010 10:11 pm

    these are the kind of days you call a friend (ahem) and ask if your kids could play for an entire day. Sorry it was such a long one! amanda

  4. esodhiambo permalink*
    June 6, 2010 11:40 pm

    Abbey–I’m still recovering

    Deborah–except for 2 spots, it does. I do need to find someone to take a look at refurbishing it, though. Not sure when the last time it was exposed was, but it was at least two carpets and a little water damage ago.

    Amanda–I really had NO idea what I was getting into! I am practically a professional staple remover as a teacher, but there is a BIG difference between wood and cork board, and the effort and time required.

  5. joanna permalink
    June 10, 2010 10:23 am

    Emily-We had the same thing happen to us when Cooper was a baby. He removed his diaper and walked all over the carpet. We were renting at the time. UGH! I could show you the pictures I took if you want. 🙂

Leave a Reply

