Skip to content

Greatest American Hero

May 8, 2010

I really never thought I’d say this but: Robert Gates is my hero.

Yes, I realize he made his career in the war industry. And he is a Republican. But someone HAD to say it, and no one has been listening to me for the previous three decades, so he was good enough to take up my rallying cry: let’s stop wasting money (and lives!) on war. For real. It’s kind of amazing that the idea of “let’s keep some of that money for ourselves” is more motivating than “hey–let’s not kill so many people,” but, you know, whatever works.

No explanation needed on this, am I right?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2010 9:52 pm

    Time had Gates as one of their Top 100 influential people of the year.

    I sang along and knew every word. I loved William Katt!

  2. esodhiambo permalink*
    May 11, 2010 8:31 am

    I know all the words to that song, too. I think I learned it because I sang it as a musical number with a cousins choir…at my uncles’ wedding reception? Could that be true? Why would that song have been sung for a wedding? I am going to have to check on this particular memory.

Leave a Reply

