Skip to content

Reel Report

April 13, 2010


I promised to report and since I had to break out the mower today, I am newly re-enamored.

The reel mower is, indeed, quiet, light, and cuts. I like using it and I get compliments and questions from passers-by just about every time I mow. So, in case you are in the market for a mower that is not a riding one, I say: consider a reel mower.

For some reason, this is very attractive: each and every one of my children begged me just today to use the mower. Although Amos’ request was non-verbal, he was by far the most adamant and the only one I actually broke down and let him push the mower across the lawn, up the driveway and into the garage.

The trick now is to get them to remember how tantalizingly desireable this job is in about five years when they can actually take over for me.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    April 13, 2010 10:53 pm

    where did you get yours and how much did it cost? Do you think it would work on all grass types? The back yard is thick and long, the front, patchy….

  2. Anne permalink
    April 14, 2010 8:22 am

    But how well does it really cut, especially when grass is on the long side?

  3. esodhiambo permalink*
    April 14, 2010 8:32 am

    Amanda–I got mine from Home Depot and it cost about a hundred dollars. You can get different widths–the wider ones being more expensive. That is actually more expensive than I expected, but then the only maintenance is occasional oil. I am sure Lowes and Sears has them, too. I do think it would work on all grass types BUT it can’t handle anything super long, so if your backyard is really long, you may have to cut it down with something else and then maintain it with a reel mower. You can borrow mine for a weekend if you want to try it.

    Anne–It cuts just fine but, as noted above, can’t do super long grass, so if yours is overgrown, you may have to do an initial cut down with something else, and then maintain with a reel mower. The cut does not give manicured lines like other mowers do, but it does cut. You can get reel mowers that catch the grass, but I just let mine fall. Also, mine has two height adjustments–some have more.

  4. Sheree permalink
    April 15, 2010 4:41 pm

    I have always wanted one of these. I’m so glad it works well for you. Please continue to report on its performance.

Leave a comment