Skip to content

Chuck It

March 27, 2010

I have been known to brag about NOT going to Chuck E. Cheeses. I had branded it as cheap (as in, low quality) fun cheap (as in inexpensive)–not my scene. Nope, I like fun, but I want it to be expensive. No, that’s not right, but I want it not to include lights and beeps and large rodents. Is that so much to ask? So although I delight in having convinced every member of my family that Mama would never go to Chuck E. Cheeses and never ever take them, the truth is, I had never been there. Ever. I have entirely dismissed an entire business sight unseen.

Until today: I entered this establishment to drop Peter off at a birthday party there. Words cannot express how very right I have been. Chuck E. Cheeses is a deplorable place. Sure, kids would love it, but how on earth can non-kids stand it? Are they deaf and blind? Compensating for significant parenting gaffes? Guilty? It is beyond me.

I am gratified, though, that my judgment was entirely correct even if uninformed. I must have great instincts. You should follow my lead on more things.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    March 27, 2010 10:53 pm

    I went there once for a birthday and will not return. Believe me, the food is more horrid than you can imagine. However, Jack’s one trip there stuck in his mind so profoundly, he convinced his sisters to take him. I warned them that I would absolutely NOT stay or pay for it. They all agreed and took all three kids. Jack found some coupons the other day for Chuck E Cheese, cut them out and lovingly saved them, hoping Aubrey will again have time to take him. I told him good luck. Deplorable about sums it up.

  2. March 27, 2010 11:48 pm

    Suzy’s brother told his kids it’s where Satan lives.

  3. Melissa permalink
    March 28, 2010 3:07 pm

    If I may, your story reminded me of one of my brother’s blog posts about his misadventures in a Chuck E. Cheese. http://bagstranded.blogspot.com/2009/01/rodentia-fina.html

  4. esodhiambo permalink*
    March 29, 2010 8:38 am

    Amanda–hell on earth.

    Deborah–perfect!

    Melissa–thanks for the link–I shall be enjoying Camerons’ archives. He sounds so grown up–I haven’t seen him since he was in high school.

  5. Amanda permalink
    March 29, 2010 3:47 pm

    actually, I have literally referred to Chuck E Cheese as my “personal hell.” so yeah, hell on Earth.

Leave a Reply

