Skip to content

In Honor of a BEAUTIFUL Day

March 19, 2010

We always celebrate the return to outdoor activities, and this week has been rife with opportunities to do so. Of course there were our old favorites: swings, swings, swings; all of my kids have been MAJOR swingers and I anticipate feeling totally, delightfully useless when EVERYONE gets their leg-pumping mastered.

A few new developments:

Amos is moving about the playground of his own volition. Communing with any dogs he can find, splashing in ALL the puddles, and propelling himself down slides–it’s a good thing he is tall enough for a two year old, because hovering parents always think my kids are doing a little too much by themselves.

Peter is at kind of a funny stage since he has pretty much done anything and everything he could reach or climb to on the playground since he was one; this includes the two-story climbing wall and super-fast slides. Again, it makes other parents nervous, but it makes Peter and I happy, so who cares? This year he is just going higher and faster.

Lily is finally covering some distance on the monkey bars. She suffers from having a mom who refuses to hold her as she goes back and forth as she has wanted to do every time we have been at a playground since the day she was born. Believe me–this refusal has saved me hundreds of woman-hours, although it probably would have done my biceps some good. Anyway, she is enjoying her hanging skills and I say: more power to her.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2010 4:12 pm

    It sounds like we have similar parenting styles. I refused to hold my kids on the monkey bars as well. I say it’s not neglect, I am teaching independence!

  2. esodhiambo permalink*
    March 19, 2010 7:54 pm

    Exactly.

  3. Amy permalink
    March 23, 2010 1:48 pm

    Nice pictures of the Pete.

  4. esodhiambo permalink*
    March 23, 2010 8:20 pm

    He is quite the character.

Leave a Reply

