Skip to content

Restart

March 15, 2010

“Sunday clears away the rust of the whole week”
-Joseph Addison

I am terribly disoriented for having missed church yesterday. All day long, I have been thinking I must be at least at mid-week, but no, it is MONDAY. Unfortunate.

It’s kind of funny because, especially since having children, I don’t find the Sabbath, or the weekend, particularly restful. No, instead it is a day of DIFFERENT work: washing hair, laundering, digging up tights that magically disappear every week, managing restless children through quiet meetings, meetings, meetings, making cinnamon rolls, prepping for a talk, and locating that lost shoe. I often feel exhausted halfway through the day, and I know I am not alone in that.

Yet missing church really throws me for a loop. I feel at a loss for having missed the announcements and talks, even though I frequently miss more than half of them, anyway, while I frantically search for the fruit snacks at the bottom of the church bag. It’s not so much that those announcements affect me directly (they rarely do) or that I learn from the talks (I wish), just that I have missed out on a community event. I miss my community.

So here I am, still out at sea, treading water for another week before I touch base with my community and sing some 19th Century song. Even though I rarely feel a physical respite while at church, I guess it does serve as a little restart button on my week; a marker of separation from week to week–better than an endless stream of days, I suppose.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2010 1:40 pm

    I can’t think of anyone who finds Sundays restful. Many of the singles in our ward go to our meetings, then on to the singles ward, and then last night they had a potluck. Even though I’m kid-less, after church I went VTing with my companion and saw two sisters. And I don’t even have a high maintenance calling!

  2. March 15, 2010 1:54 pm

    I feel similar. I don’t always like going to church but it is one of those things I don’t realize I miss until I don’t go, and then I’m all “oh, church, missed you!”

  3. March 15, 2010 9:13 pm

    I find it usually a better social event, than a spiritual event. 😦

  4. esodhiambo permalink*
    March 15, 2010 9:33 pm

    Sylvia–good point–Mormons keep busy.

    Natalie–exactly.

    Deborah–you’re really putting the pressure on for my RS lesson!

Leave a Reply

