Skip to content

Booster Seats, Anyone?

March 11, 2010

Phone books: I have received two on my doorstep this week.

On the one hand, I take these as free gifts I never asked for nor expected. Thanks.

On the other, I will likely not use either one and yet feel obligated to try, otherwise they were hugely wasteful to make and distribute.

Really: when was the last time you pulled out the phone book? I am much more likely to look online, or even look something up on my GPS. I suspect there may be a few things phone books are good for–like looking stuff up when my internet is down. Ah, who am I kidding? It’s 2010, my internet doesn’t go “down” anymore.

Phone books: an artifact of a time gone by. I give them five more years, tops.

I wonder if the pages are good for papier mache? I think I feel a St. Patrick’s Day piniata coming on!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    March 11, 2010 11:18 pm

    phone books are not obsolete! I find things in them all the time. Face it, flipping through real pages is sometimes faster than the Internet. Seriously. It’s true.

  2. esodhiambo permalink*
    March 11, 2010 11:21 pm

    Maybe for those of us with college degrees in locating people and places, but for the rest of us? Nah. It could easily have been years since I used one.

  3. March 12, 2010 10:25 am

    So true. A phone book arrived on my doorstep last weekend and I put it directly in my recycling bin. I felt a bit bad doing it, but at least I was recycling it, right? It has easily been 4 years since using a phone book for me. I think it’s a waste.

Leave a Reply

