Skip to content

Chauffering

March 10, 2010

Lily started a dance class in January. She loves it and Peter does too–he asks every time when he will be old enough to join in and basically just dances along in the back of the room. Amos appears to enjoy the class, too, but does less dancing and more destroying and evading.

So, now I have this peek into being one of those parents who forgoes having a life to drive their kids (who have lives) around and waits for them. I have to say: I like it. Every week I get to make up some little errand or outing in the neighborhood. Sure, the stained glass store wasn’t REAL excited to see me walk in with 1 and 3 year old boys, but that didn’t stop us. No-sir-ee. OK, I got out of their pretty darn quick when I saw the man sweating bullets and giving us the evil-eye. But I enjoyed my glimpse.

Now when I get those boys dancing, too, I’ll be home free. Antiquing, gassing it up, strolling the neighborhood, reading: ah…those will be the days.

So far, though, touring with the boys has been fun (except that Peter would really like to go get fruit snacks every week because we did it once). One day we drove over to look at the Frank Lloyd Wright house here in Rochester. It was easy to find, although probably not the most picturesque time of year to photograph. Apparently, it was originally built on a double lot and Mr. Wright designed the gardens and furniture, too. Now that the adjoining lot is occupied by a different house, it does seem a little cramped. I did a little reading about the building of the house. Everyone loves a genius, many appreciate an eccentric, but few really dig a hermit. Apparently while Frank Lloyd Wright was here, he spent his time living in a lean-to he built on the work site and subsisted almost entirely on carrots. Weirdo.

Anyway, it could be yours. But if you buy it, I may have to drop by on Saturday mornings while the kids are at dance–hope you don’t mind.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2010 8:49 am

    I totally want this house.

  2. esodhiambo permalink*
    March 13, 2010 10:10 pm

    Deborah–I just checked LDS.org and confirmed that this house is on Third Ward, so I say: go for it.

  3. Brooks permalink
    March 14, 2010 3:43 am

    Any chance that you could buy this house for me, Emily? I’d happily move my entire family out there, just to live in it. Think how much fun we’d have letting our kids play together. Just think!!! 🙂

  4. esodhiambo permalink*
    March 14, 2010 11:24 am

    Brooks–I’ll look into it–you’d be excellent neighbors. (I believe it is under half a million–no Falling Water).

Leave a Reply

