Skip to content

Add it to my List

February 3, 2010

I have a running list of activities it is WORTH paying someone else to teach my kids. I have recently added one: ice skating.

I have three kids 5 and under who really wanted to skate. You can imagine.

Now imagine that I have not ice skated in at least one decade, if not two, and wasn’t even good then.

Now imagine a bitterly cold day.

Now imagine an outdoor rink.

Now imagine that I could not find my gloves and actually wasn’t even wearing my winter coat.

Now imagine that the rink had no wall encircling it–the kind of wall I am accustomed to crashing into and clinging to.

Now imagine epic parking issues.

Now imagine ill-fitting skates.

Now imagine a crowded rink, mostly crowded with future or former Olympians.

The kids had a great time and can’t wait to do it again.



2 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    February 4, 2010 8:41 am

    Even with an auntie along, you are an ambitious soul. They look like they are definitely enjoying themselves.

  2. esodhiambo permalink*
    February 4, 2010 11:03 am

    Catherine and I definitely bit off more than we could chew. Almost any change to the outing, though, would have made a big difference: indoor rink, one with a wall, not so crowded. The biggest one, though, would be to leave Amos with someone to have a 1:1 adult:child ratio. Oh, and if I had practiced in the last decade, that would have been helpful, too. I am going to have to pinch my pennies and sign them up for skating through the rec department–that would be a big help.

Leave a Reply

