Skip to content

A Perfect Day for Bananafish

January 28, 2010

Well folks, J.D. Salinger had finally been put out of his misery; no longer will he have to avoid all of us who wonder what the heck was going on in his New Yorker short stories. Here are my top ten reasons for believing Salinger to be The Man:

1. A Catcher in the Rye is the only book I can think of that I hated every second of until I got to the last page and then I loved it. Way to go.
2. With J.D., would 80s teen movies and music have been able to portray alienation as well as they did? I think not.
3. You gotta admire a man who forgoes fame. Really, our Reality TV world could not produce it.
4. “A Perfect Day for Bananafish” deeply deeply confused my 16 year old self. I should re-read it. Or burn it.
5. YA literature would be altogether too rosey without him.
6. He was a religious seeker.
7. J.D. was a real New Yorker.
8. The man was 91 (barely). Heaven forbid I live that long!
9. Adolescents desperately need to be explained.
10. Not enough Jeromes in this world.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

