Skip to content

Grey (Gray)

January 5, 2010

I have this pretty awesome (if I do say so myself) little alcove in my attic playroom.

It has a low ceiling and is a bit removed from the furious fun of the rest of the room. I imagine that, in the years to come, it will make a mighty fine reading spot and I have envisioned putting curtains up at the front so it can be used as a stage. At least, I spent many happy hours developing dance routines and short plays to present to my family, and I expect the same entertainment from my kids!

The windows face the street and it is fun people watching because you feel so removed 3 stories up, but you have a great view. Today, Peter and I were playing a guessing game about what we would see next: a school bus, a minivan, a green car, or kids walking. And there were a surprising number of people walking. I chose this house specifically so my kids can walk to and from school for middle and high school because I do not anticipate buying them cars, but today made me wonder if I may spend almost as much on winter gear so that they can comfortably make the trek.

We also saw a remarkable number of grey cars. Lots. Like 8 out of 10 cars that passed were grey. Now I admit to being the kind of person who would buy a grey car: I just plain like the color. And sure, there are lots of car colors with significant deficits like ever-needing-a-wash black cars, boring white cars, or plain ugly teal cars. But how did grey become the go-to color?

Oh well. I guess I better develop a new preference before I need a new car.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2010 4:00 pm

    I LOVE this room! I would have the same vision if this was my house. We have a large room in our house that will someday (when we get to THAT part of the renovation project) have a kiddie stage, among other things.

    Did you paint the green yourself? It looks cool, sort of like a circus tent.

    • esodhiambo permalink*
      May 22, 2010 9:10 pm

      I intended to paint it myself, but in the end, I did not. I needed to get the whole house painted in one week, and just couldn’t (what with all the painted-over wall-paper to strip) and delegated this to professionals, along with two rooms on the first floor. My family and I did the rest. We’re not great.

Leave a Reply

