Skip to content

Being the Tooth Fairy is Hard

December 30, 2009

It is now 3:09 AM. I dare not go back to bed because I surely will not wake up again before Lily does. I only woke up this time because Amos was fussing. After I settled him down, I scrounged up a quarter and tried to swap it for Lily’s little tooth, but woke her up instead. Tooth Fairy: fail.

I remember being so disappointed that the tooth fairy had forgotten me when I was young. It is one of those things I was sure I would never do as a parent: how hard could stealing teeth from hard-sleepers be, after all?

Yet clearly, between the time we said our good-nights when Lily confessed that she wasn’t sure if the Tooth Fairy was real and that tonight was just a test, and the time that I actually went to bed, I totally blanked on this particular duty. Had Amos had a good rest, I am sure that I would be dealing with a very disappointed girl come morning. I still may be, actually, because as it is, Lily has forgone her normal can’t-wake-the-dead rest and is instead sleeping the fragile sleep of the watchdog.

Alright, now I am going to give it another try. Wish me luck!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Melissa permalink
    December 30, 2009 11:32 am

    I hope the Tooth Fairy was able to complete her duties. Hasn’t the price of teeth inflated since we were kids? I always got a quarter for my teeth, but for some reason I thought the Tooth Fairy paid a lot more for teeth these days. Of course, I don’t really know any tooth-losing kids and a quarter seems like a reasonable exchange.

  2. esodhiambo permalink*
    December 30, 2009 7:46 pm

    Yes! Lots of kids around here get dollars. I just hope Lily doesn’t talk to them.

  3. Amanda permalink
    December 31, 2009 12:02 am

    How did it go the second time?

  4. esodhiambo permalink*
    December 31, 2009 7:43 pm

    Worked like a charm.

Trackbacks

  1. I really am turning into my mother « The Chronicles of O

Leave a Reply

