Skip to content

Can’t Beat That

December 22, 2009

Sixish months ago, some neighbors down the street said they’d bring us some trucks their boys had outgrown. Not feeling a big truck void in my life, I didn’t sweat it and when they didn’t show up, I wasn’t bothered at all.

Fast forward to today, and I came home from work to find four big yellow trucks on my porch with a note from my neighbor wishing Peter many happy hours of play. I shrugged, thinking of all the fun things we have done lately and will be doing in the next week or so, this hardly compares to the crack-like adiction to a certain robot game my dad has helped Peter develop.

See? Nothing to get excited about.

Then Peter appears. Like a cartoon character, his eyes got as big as plates, he was momentarily silenced, followed by very loud exclamations. I can’t even hope to recreate Peter’s reaction to the trucks, but suffice it to say that my many months of pinching pennies and careful planning are all for naught as they cannot hope to compete with some kid’s used toys.

Bummer.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    December 24, 2009 12:54 am

    This happened to me last year. A dollhouse, you may recall. Ellie still liked her stuff. Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

