Skip to content

How to Dress a Tree

December 20, 2009

1. Wrestle the tree from the car to the house and up on the stand all by your lonesome in the middle of the night while the kiddies sleep and dream. String the lights and the garland so eager helpers are thwarted.

2. The next evening, when you are actually ready to decorate, let the kiddies put PJs on because everything is more fun when you call it a pajama party; this will also help them get to bed afterwards. Break out the sugar cookies and icing to provide a little energy for the endeavors.

3. Assemble assorted cheap plastic ornaments from Big Lots.

4. Invite the Fun Aunt to come and help. Extra bonus if she wears red tights.

5. Prevent the baby from eating too many ornaments.

6. Take direction from the two-year-old.

7. Finish up before everyone gets too crazy and GET TO BED.

8. Enjoy all season long.

And to think: it all started with this angel.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Lindsay permalink
    December 21, 2009 11:52 pm

    I love Peter’s PJs!

  2. esodhiambo permalink*
    December 22, 2009 7:58 am

    So does he; if only Carters went bigger than size 7, I’d add some to your Christmas list.

  3. Lindsay permalink
    December 22, 2009 1:59 pm

    I don’t think they would look nearly so charming on me, so it’s probably a good thing they don’t.

  4. May 22, 2010 4:27 pm

    I’m afraid this post made me all teary. It would appear that you are a totally frickin’ awesome mother. My hat is off, in general.

    p.s. I love your floors.

    • esodhiambo permalink*
      May 22, 2010 9:11 pm

      I like my floors, too. I do my best with mothering. Today was not a highlight, but I have my moments.

Leave a Reply

