Skip to content

In Memorium: Halloween 2009

November 5, 2009

Did anyone else notice how Halloween happened a week early this year? Although the actual date was this last Saturday, there seemed to be a lot of community Halloween activities the previous Saturday. Just me? OK.

Well, our first Halloween activity was on Wednesday at Church. I tried to make it a low-key effort. The kids used costumes from my Mom’s stash–I had planned on Lily being Little Red Riding Hood (Word Girl’s new pants had not yet arrived), but I think the jewelry of a Pirate Girl seduced her, I had planned on Peter being the cowboy, but he made a fine pirate, and I would have been very happy to have Amos uncostumed, but he was put in this Mouse outfit (which I wore once upon a time), and if there is one thing that Amos doesn’t like, it is getting his clothes changed, so I left it.

DSC_0499-1DSC_0500

We took our neighbor to the party, and clearly, she is a professional model. Peter, meanwhile, couldn’t understand why we were posing when we should have been PLAYING. Amos really got into character and tried to run away.

On the REAL Halloween, we went all out.
wordgirllily
Lily says she would like to be Word Girl every year. FABULOUS! That makes my Mom job a lot easier.
Pirate Peter
Peter makes a great pirate; he kept trying to make a pirate face for the pictures, but couldn’t hold it: too sweet for meanness.
cowboy amos
Amos just happened to be wearing overalls that day, so I threw a bandana and hat on him and called him: farmer. As you can see, he is not a hat guy.
trick or treat
Good to go.

We had excellent weather and enjoyed trick-or-treating. When the aliens invade, I hope they don’t come on Halloween and think that it is NORMAL to dress up as something (anything) you are not and knock on everyone’s door expecting candy. They will be very disappointed to find out our merriment, good will, and free candy is limited to one day a year.

Of course, we have nothing on this guy:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    November 9, 2009 4:02 pm

    I’m interested in Lily’s shoes. I love the color. Are they boots? What is that on the toe?

  2. esodhiambo permalink*
    November 9, 2009 4:15 pm

    Ack! Lily-s shoes: they are wellies. Green fairy boots and those are wings. sticking off the toes. It was a wet and muddy day, so we wore our boots. Word Girl would not approve, I am sure.

    (Peter, on the other hand, has pirate boots, so it was a perfect fit).

  3. Amanda permalink
    November 16, 2009 12:54 am

    I am tempted to show that video to Jack except he would think he should be able to be a transformable bumblebee. Where do you think to find these things?
    đŸ™‚

  4. esodhiambo permalink*
    November 16, 2009 9:40 am

    YouTube clips barely ever include thought.

    Come on–I saw your Thomas creation, I think you can totally work out a real Transforming costume by next year. Imagine how impressed the other kindergartners will be!

Leave a Reply

