Skip to content

O Pioneers

October 16, 2009

pioneer sepia

Don’t be confused, but these are not real pioneers. I know they look like it. The bonnets, for one. And they are singing, and we know pioneer children sang as they walked and walked and walked and walked. And they are extraordinarily anglo.

No, these are modern day children. They gathered at a little Pioneer Day shindig in July. They were somehow a part of a puppet show Catherine was in, but I can’t quite remember how. They probably have fewer floral prints in their everyday wardrobes.

The reason I snapped their picture will probably blow your mind. You ready? I wore each and every one of those dresses as a child. For real. Not as costumes. In a totally unironic way. I actually put them on and wore them as clothes.

Are you sad for me? It makes me a little sad, too. I even liked some of them–that is really sad. I can hope my own children won’t have this kind of reaction to the clothes I buy and dress them in. At least they won’t turn into costumes, I don’t think.

pioneers

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    October 16, 2009 3:55 pm

    Minus the aprons (even though I love aprons and they are so back in ) they would be fine (maybe not the lace yoke one).
    And I would totally dress my girls in that second one from the left; it’s still sweet.
    Didn’t mom make most of those? Respect the skills.

  2. esodhiambo permalink*
    October 16, 2009 8:16 pm

    Oh sure, I respect the skills, just maybe not the style. I think mom made all of them except the blue one in the middle.

    I don’t think you would consider the long ones–very 70s. 1870s.

Leave a Reply

