Skip to content

You can pretty much just print this out when you nominate me for Mother of the Year

July 11, 2009

“Mo-om”

Uh-oh, the two-syllable “Mom;” that can only be trouble.

“Mo-om, Peter needs your help.”

“What happened?”

“You’ll see,” Lily assures me as she looks back up the stairs at her brother.

I assumed it was a diaper issue as he just woke up from a long nap.

Peter came down the stairs looking normal.

Everything normal here....

Everything normal here....

(Please ignore the arrayed oyster crackers–Amos is not on board with our summer cleanliness program).

“My head hurts,” Peter reports, and from across the room, I have no idea why. Then, with a slight turn of his head, I see it clearly:

P1000127

What? You need to see that closer?

P1000125

No! You are saying to yourself. It LOOKS like Silly Putty but there is NO WAY the mother of a two-year-old would have given him Silly Putty AND let it anywhere near his bed.

I know, right?

Unless she had to go to that one adults-only (except babies) shower a few weeks ago but she had to bring her non-baby offspring too and she had to leave them in the car while she went to a, well, a party. And she might have felt so guilty about this, um, neglect that, in an effort to appease the non-baby offspring, she bought them some distractions. And even though she threatened that the Putty, on pain of a Mama meltdown (very ugly), would NOT touch the textiles of the car; even though she STRONGLY ENCOURAGED the kids to take the Silly Putty to other people’s houses (don’t worry, not yours) and leave it there; even though there had been those feeble attempts to avert disaster that to all right-thinking people would seem inevitable…well, what can she say?

Yes, that is Silly Putty and boy do I feel silly. How DO you get Silly Putty out of hair? I googled it, natch. [Lily informed me that she had her OWN ideas about how to get it out and she DIDN’T need to look it up (she told me) and her idea involved scissors–seriously, I couldn’t make that up–she is a girl with a plan].

So, leaving Amos in very capable (and scissorless) hands, Peter and I went to the bathroom to get down to business. He was not excited.

P1000129

But it had to be done

P1000130

The baby oil worked pretty well. First I pulled out what I could, then I poured on the oil and combed out smaller beads.

P1000138

Peter feels much better, thanks.

P1000134

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    July 12, 2009 8:55 pm

    FYI, if it ever gets on textiles (I’m not sure I’d try this on hair…) grab a bottle of compressed air and take the little straw off. Shoot the freeon (sp?) on and it freezes very quickly. Scrape with something plastic. Comes off like a breeze. At least, it works wonders with gum. Don’t ask me how I know.

  2. esodhiambo permalink*
    July 13, 2009 6:38 pm

    Good to know, although I don’t have compressed air laying around. Maybe I should.

  3. July 17, 2009 11:58 pm

    At least it wasn’t brains leaking out the back of his head. That’s kinda what it looked like at first glance.

  4. esodhiambo permalink*
    July 18, 2009 7:57 am

    Maren: always looking on the bright side!

  5. May 11, 2010 1:28 am

    Laughed until I cried.

  6. esodhiambo permalink*
    May 11, 2010 8:20 am

    We are here for your entertainment.

Leave a Reply

