Skip to content

Fatal Mistake

June 12, 2009

My garage STINKS!

That is not a commentary on how it is doing it’s job of sheltering my car and storing half-empty paint cans and opening and closing at the push of a button.

It literally smells bad. Really really bad.

The smell is no mystery. I know exactly the cause of the smell. That is good in that I can do something about it. But it is also bad in that I am the one who brought that smell into the garage. I am to blame.

Last week, a squirrel died. No big deal, really, except that he died in my yard (how rude!). I hoped that if I ignored it, it would just go away. Not resurrection style, but I thought maybe some animal would come and eat it, or maybe squirrels would take care of their own, or maybe the bugs would devour it super fast or something. Delusional? Perhaps.

Then the kids were playing in the backyard and saw it (it was smack in the middle of the yard) and insisted I do something with it. So, I picked it up in a plastic bag, tied it shut, and threw it in my garbage can.

Phew.

Bad move.

Do other homeowners magically know how to dispose of dead bodies? My solution was clearly not correct.

At least it is garbage day today!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Hannah permalink
    June 12, 2009 2:31 pm

    I’m with you. I would have thought that nature would take care of her own.

    Maybe next time it needs to go over the fence and into the road.

  2. Amanda permalink
    June 13, 2009 7:42 am

    Four options to consider next time:

    1. quadruple bag it and put the trash can outside until trash day.
    2. quadruple bag it (or not) and bury it.
    3. quadruple bag it and put it in your freezer until trash day. Sounds gross, but it’s effective.
    4. Relocate somewhere where there are foxes or coyotes or birds of prey or buzzards or crows, which will all eat dead things. I suspect this is not an option, but where I grew up, this is was an effective option after just burying it.

  3. esodhiambo permalink*
    June 16, 2009 10:41 am

    Now there’s a girl who knows how to dispose of a carcass!

  4. Amanda permalink
    June 16, 2009 11:34 pm

    I am a font of useless, and sometimes useful but archane, information. 🙂

  5. Ganie permalink
    June 24, 2009 1:44 pm

    I am coming *way* late to this discussion, but here’s what I did when I was faced with this dilemma a week or so after moving into my house…put the carcass in a plastic bag and then drive around late at night until you find an unattended dumpster, fling the carcass into the dumpster, and drive off quickly. (I briefly considered Amanda’s freezer option, but decided it was too disgusting…)

  6. esodhiambo permalink*
    June 25, 2009 11:13 am

    Squirrels hate new owners, I guess.

Leave a Reply

