Skip to content

Car Parking Lot

June 9, 2009

Once upon a time we must have driven smaller cars. During that magical time, someone somewhere decided on a standard size for a parking space. It worked out just fine.

Then all sorts of seemingly normal people decided they needed Suburbans (never saw the appeal), trucks, vans, and SUVs

big car

small car

When I was a normal car driver, I just used to complain that people in big cars thought they could park anywhere. I have, on more than one occasion, been unable to enter my car because of the enormous vehicles on either side (I’m looking at you, car park behind the Wadsworth Library in Geneseo).

Now that I drive a van, I’d like to think that I would NEVER do that to anyone. But I would welcome some relief in making a new standard size parking space be big enough to comfortably accommodate larger cars. So if, among my readers, anyone is in charge of deciding how big spaces should be, go bigger, please.

But don’t worry about the Hummers. Those guys should just be parked in their driveways.

Picture 2

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

