Skip to content

Das Kinder Garten

June 4, 2009

(I was never good at the articles, so German-speakers, feel free to correct me)

Lily went for Kindergarten screening this morning. The hardest part about it was getting her to leave afterwards. On our way out, a kindergarten class filed past (she was taller than every single one of them!) and I wouldn’t have been at all surprised if she had joined the end of the line. Lily has been begging to go to kindergarten for at least 2 years (which really doesn’t sound that long, but it is half of her lifetime).

My school district has quite an extensive run-up to kindergarten. In January, there is the orientation meeting for parents. Then in March you can have special meetings and observations if you question your child’s school-readiness. Then the screening in June (and I think it says something not nice about me that I was disappointed the screening did not include tests of skills, just sight, hearing, and a speech screening–I REALLY wanted Lily to show off her alphabet and numbers, oh well–I’ll have to be impressed with them if the school doesn’t care).

We are not done yet. At the end of June, we get notification about AM or PM placement. We wait until August for a teacher’s name. The beginning of September brings a day to visit the classroom and take a bus ride. Then the first two days of school, only half of the class comes each day, so the kids can have more teacher attention and the parents are asked to bring them, and at a certain point in the class, are invited (told) to leave. I am already exhausted.

At least I know I won’t have to worry about Lily.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    June 4, 2009 9:06 pm

    I can’t believe she’s going to school! She’ll rock at kindgergarten! Your school certainly sounds better than mine…

  2. esodhiambo permalink*
    June 5, 2009 8:44 am

    I would invite you to move here, but I am pretty sure Bob would classify Brighton as “un-American.” But with great schools.

Leave a Reply

