Skip to content

Fun-Draining

May 12, 2009

My local NPR station is fund-raising this week. I cannot tell you how much I detest pledge drives. And this station does three a year. It is too much. They always seem to meet their goals, though. And I have got to hand it to them: they have great programing. Out of the whole day, there are only 2 hours of programs that I don’t care for (OK–can’t stand). But ALL WEEK they are going to be talking, begging, cajoling, shaming listeners into giving them money.

Here is what I wish they would do when they raise funds though: the first day of the pledge drive, I want them to announce, “We want to raise x amount of money and as soon as we reach our goal, we will stop the pledge drive.” That way, everyone who is going to pledge anyway, can just do it right away, rather than dragging it out all week, and the pledge could be over immediately.

Because I really can’t stand hearing Diane Rhem beg for money.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ganie permalink
    May 15, 2009 8:57 am

    WAMU in Washington (Diane Rehm’s home station and possibly the best NPR station in the known universe) sometimes (maybe always) does that–the “we’ll stop as soon as we reach our goal” thing. Everyone is so grateful, it usually doesn’t take long.

    I also hate Pledge Week on PBS–not only because I hate the begging for money, but also because I hate 90% of the special programming they put on during that week. Who watches this stuff???? Especially the increasingly common Boomer Music specials that sound exactly like ads for those Time-Life music collections. It’s the one week (okay four weeks) of the year when I’m guaranteed NOT to watch PBS. Or listen to NPR.

    Another reason to hate Pledge Week is that my Klingon sister is in charge of it for the PBS station in Albuquerque. It’s a huge part of her job. I’ve shared with her all of my Pledge Week complaints, and she insists that the way they do it works, but I wonder. (Also, summer Pledge Week is giving her a chance to be incredibly passive-aggressive about scheduling a birthday celebration for my mom. Not that she *needs* Pledge Week to be passive-aggressive…)

  2. esodhiambo permalink*
    May 15, 2009 10:33 am

    Well, you hate it worse than I do!

Leave a Reply

