Skip to content

Another Fake Holiday

April 22, 2009

OK, maybe Earth Day doesn’t count as a holiday. But it does seem fake, does it not? I suppose that is the fate of any “new” day added to the calendar/national consciousness within our memory.

While I understand the cynicism occasions like Earth Day bring out in conservatives, I still think it a fine and worthy addition to our year. I think environmentalism is a legitimate, even necessary, concern. So, I will take the day to outline some of the things I know I should be doing and take the opportunity to recommit with the caveat that some of these things will not be integrated into our lives until we move:

1. Reusable shopping bags– I have NO EXCUSE. I just need to get into the habit.
2. Those efficient light-bulbs–just need to do a total overhaul of my lighting.
3. REAL recycling–I cannot tell you how excited I am to have at the curb recycling for all that paper and cardboard.
4. More walking/riding–we’ll have the library, pool, haircuts, drug store, and Church within walking distance, we’ll just need to get into the habit. And figure out how much time it will take to get to Sacrament on time. And how to get there not sweaty. And what to do if it starts raining while we are there.
5. Eventually, I would love to have an energy efficient house–for the time being, I’ll just have to turn the lights out.

I know someone who takes every Earth Day to just choose ONE thing and commit to that change for the year (which obviously becomes a habit–you can’t really go BACK to trashing everything once you are a recycler, can you?) but I feel the need to do all these things now since I have been so stagnant.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

