Skip to content

Craigslist Overload

March 23, 2009

I have had WAY too much Craigslist recently, but I really have to wonder about this:

picture-3

Is this a gag? Like someone is just experimenting with what others will buy? Or is this a real thing? Is there some subculture out there where lobster traps ARE furniture? Like that subculture where dead animal heads are decorations?

What do you think?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Erin permalink
    March 24, 2009 1:43 pm

    I can see the appeal of having something funky/cool like that, but not at that price. How much does a lobster trap cost?

  2. esodhiambo permalink*
    March 24, 2009 1:50 pm

    I can see the appeal of something funky/cool like that if it were attractive, but I submit that a lobster trap is not. And if it were to be furniture, it would not be with smoked glass!

  3. Amy permalink
    March 25, 2009 1:15 pm

    It’s definitely for real. Maybe cooler in a beach house. And I would say that having furniture made out of re-used items is seen as chic and earth savvy.

  4. esodhiambo permalink*
    March 25, 2009 1:48 pm

    hmmm…I had totally convinced myself it was a joke in some subversive Craigslist kind of way.

    The other day I saw someone advertising endtables/dog cages, so naturally I had to take a look. The pieces are of polished wood and look like furniture but have a door and they photographed it with a dachsund inside. I am pretty sure it is normal furniture and the dog thing was a joke.

    But I don’t know.

Leave a Reply

