Skip to content

Love, Peace, and Harmony…maybe in the Next World

March 21, 2009

Some of my favorites:

Morrissey came through for me once more. You know if I tell you about it, I’ll just be gushing, so see for yourself:

Kick-off:

I’ve always loved this song:

The crowd ranged from downright old (no offense) to mopey teenagers. I realized I have been listening to Morrissey for 20 YEARS! I am old. And there were plenty of minivans in the parking lot and I overheard more than one conversation about finding a babysitter (thanks Catherine!). Those teens must be horrified. We were mopey teenagers too, and now we drive carseats around and wear mom jeans and have Relief Society haircuts and some of us probably even vote Republican (can it be? can you love Morrissey AND guns?) Maybe not that last one.

Morrissey was pretty chatty. He started it off with “Good evening Buffalo! I am Morrissey and I am yours tonight,” and ended with “God Bless You! God Bless Me!”

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2009 5:25 pm

    I saw the Smiths in 1986!!!

  2. esodhiambo permalink*
    March 23, 2009 6:29 pm

    You lucky lucky girl! But how could that be? You must have been what, 11?

    I started seeing Morrissey in high school and that was when he wasn’t doing the Smiths songs. I am so glad he mixes it up, now.

  3. Melissa permalink
    March 27, 2009 5:07 pm

    Imagine my surprise when I was grading my government students’ notebooks and one student has a big picture of Morrissey on her notebook! It was a really cute, mopey picture from the 80s. I told her I thought only old codgers like me knew anything about Morrissey. I told her that picture was taken before she was born. But she confessed her love of Morrissey and I think she’s now my favorite student.

  4. esodhiambo permalink*
    March 27, 2009 5:59 pm

    Ahhhh…Morrissey uniting the sophisticated lady and the uncouth high schooler. Always making the world a better place.

Trackbacks

  1. Anniversary Date for Sweet and Tender Hooligans « The Chronicles of O

Leave a Reply

