Skip to content

Sick Day

March 9, 2009

I think I have come down with whatever the kids had a week ago.  I think I have it worse than anyone–I’ll take the hit.  Amos has not yet been affected, and I hope he can avoid it.

I used to not believe in sick days.  But then I had kids and realized that if everyone would take sick days, they would pass on many fewer illnesses to us.  And, of course, as a teacher, you really have no control over when you can use the restroom, so certain kinds of illnesses are just better to leave at home.  When I called in sick this morning (which I get to do three times over!) the receptionist at one of my schools said I was the eighth person to call in with the stomach bug.  Yikes!  At least she doesn’t have to find a substitute for me.

Between Amos and myself, I was up at least once every hour last night.  I hope I can make up for that a little today.  The kids are with their dad until he has to go to work, so I really have no excuses, except the elephants dancing upstairs.

Hope you are feeling better than I am!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Ganie permalink
    March 9, 2009 4:40 pm

    Yikes! That doesn’t sound like fun. Feel better fast!

Leave a Reply

