Skip to content

Photography Fail

March 8, 2009

At an exhibit at the Children’s Museum, they have a transparent wall with water in it and air bubbles–it seems like a natural photo op, right? But when I take a picture with my flash, the flash is reflected off the glass (see below)

water-wall

and when I turn the flash off, the shutter speed becomes so slow that all you can see is the blur of bubbles (see above).

I have no explanation for the pretty clear shot of Lily with the sour expression. I wish I had noticed at the time that that setting worked OK, and I would have tried for a happier child.

I welcome suggestions on this issue.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    March 9, 2009 9:44 am

    Well, you could get a camera with a moveable flash you could bounce or, here is my tried and true lame suggestion: Take a tissue and either tape it to or hold it over your flash. It will get you the light you need while diffusing the flash. Sort of a trashy diffuser, but it works. I’ve done it lots when dealing with simple cameras and glass. Lily’s picture is good because of the angle. you weren’t shooting straight on, so the flash reflection isn’t in the shot, it’s casting the light down.

  2. esodhiambo permalink*
    March 9, 2009 8:54 pm

    Love the tissue idea! I will try that next time. And yeah–I hadn’t even thought of the angle difference–see–it is so good to have a blog!

Leave a Reply

