Skip to content

Oscar Review

February 23, 2009

I admit that I was shocked, shocked, when my sister, Catherine, told me that she does not watch the Oscars and planned to watch a movie on Lifetime instead. But as I yawn myself through work today, I can see the wisdom in her choice; the entertainment was really not worth that loss of sleep. Here are some thoughts:

  1. Most people tune in for the acting wins, right? So they do 2 of those near the beginning, and then do the last 2 WAY at the end of the broadcast 3 HOURS later. Let’s clear out some of that flotsam.
  2. Shorts: why are these honored in the big show? No one, and I mean no one has seen any of them. Even the year I purposefully saw some shorts at Sundance, I did not care by the following calendar year who won. I say move these categories OUT of the big Sunday night broadcast.
  3. Why can’t we skip categories in which there were no great choices for the year? Look at the Song category. Granted, I am sure my (lack of) appreciation for modern Indian pop music is to blame, but none of these three songs were actually great. Let’s just agree that if Randy Newman didn’t write any songs worth nominating, then we can skip this category. [This year, I would say animated feature could have been skipped, too.]
  4. I kind of liked the way they introduced the acting nominees this year: they had 5 actors come out and talk about the 5 nominees. But the writing was kind of weird. Did they have the actors write these intros themselves? Consider, for example, the intros for the Best Actor category (sorry–you are going to have to find the clip yourself)–there was a big difference between the funny and thoughtful intro Robert DeNiro gave of Sean Penn and the quite atrocious intro Anthony Hopkins did.
  5. I quite like Baz, but that musical number he did (the Beyonce one) was NOT GOOD.

I will admit that the only non-animated nominated movie I saw this year was Slumdog Millionaire. It was good, but not as good as everyone says it is. The thing I thought was outstanding about it was that it had something for everyone: action, drama, romance, comedy, funny children, etc. I came out feeling that ANYONE could enjoy the movie, and not many movies can say that. And no, it shouldn’t have been rated R. So if you are one of those people who doesn’t see R movies, take it from me, you can see this one. If you watch prime time TV, you have seen worse than is in this movie. Believe me.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    February 23, 2009 10:32 pm

    I agree, it is mostly, as you put it, floatsam. In fact, I DVR’d it and watched the interesting parts between chores. However, I actually liked Hugh Jackman’s opening number and other than being WAY too long, I didn’t think the musical was too bad. As for the acting presentations, I figured some of the presenters (like Shirly McClain and DeNero) were speaking off script and the others couldn’t think of anything better than what was on the card. Kudos for trying something different, though. 🙂

  2. esodhiambo permalink*
    February 23, 2009 10:54 pm

    Yeah–the opening number was fun. I also wondered if Anthony Hopkins, and others who flubbed, simply couldn’t read the teleprompter.

Leave a Reply

